The Epsom Derby Stakes

The Epsom Derby Stakes is the most prestigious of the English Classics, serving as the country’s premier middle distance flat race for 3-year-old thoroughbreds.

2024 Epsom Derby Preview

City Of Troy comes into the Epsom Derby as one of a trio of not particularly impressive stallions marked to land one of the biggest prizes in British racing.

His billing doesn’t make much sense given his indifferent performance in the 2,000 Guineas last time out, where he finished ninth in a field of eleven over a mile. As such he is trading on his win in the Dewhurst Stakes as a 2-year-old and offers little value priced under 4/1.

Unbeaten Los Angeles is trading around the same price, and more deservedly so given that he won a 1 mile 2 furlong Derby trial race last time out after starting as favourite.

The third of the race favourites is Ancient Wisdom who finished a distant second in his only race this season – a Group 2 at York. He’s the only one of the top three who will pay out each-way bets if he places.

The value horse in the field is Dallas Star who won an Irish Group 3 over 1 miles 2 furlongs over heavy ground in April by 3 lengths. He’s trading at over 30/1.

Race Card

01.06.2024 Good to Soft (Good in places) 16 1m 4f 6y
POS Dist Horse Jockey Trainer
1 st City Of Troy R L Moore A P O’Brien
2 nd 2.75 Ambiente Friendly R Havlin J R Fanshawe
3 rd 3.25 Los Angeles W M Lordan A P O’Brien
4 th 1.5 Deira Mile Jim Crowley Owen Burrows
5 th shd Sayedaty Sadaty Tom Marquand A M Balding
6 th 0.75 Dancing Gemini D McMonagle R A Teal
7 th 5 Bellum Justum Oisin Murphy A M Balding
8 th 2.75 Ancient Wisdom W Buick C Appleby
9 th 0.75 Euphoric D P McDonogh A P O’Brien
10 th 2 Tabletalk James Doyle Tom Clover
11 th 4.25 Kamboo R Kingscote R Hughes
12 th 6 God’s Window K Shoemark J & T Gosden
13 th nk Macduff Rossa Ryan R M Beckett
14 th 15 Dallas Star David Egan A Murray
15 th 49 Mr Hampstead S M Levey D J S Ffrench Davis
U Voyage P J Dobbs R Hannon

Epsom Derby Stakes Tips

*Note: Betting tips are only displayed on the day of the race.

Nap Time Racecourse Tipster Best odds
Indicated odds were updated on 2024-06-25 4:37:03 UTC. Please note that odds are subject to change.
Tips cannot guarantee betting success. Review tipsters performance and bet responsibly.

Bookmaker Offers

Watch at the races and racing TV live

#AD – Watch EVERY race in the UK and Ireland, live at bet365. We stream all races shown on At The Races and Racing TV so you’ll never miss a second of the action! 18+ only. T&Cs apply. Registration required. Read More

Money back as a free bet if 2nd to SP favourite at Boylesports

Get your money back as a free bet if your selection finishes 2nd to the SP favourite in selected horse races. 18+ only. T&Cs apply. Read More

bet365 Each Way Extra

Advertisement. Each Way Extra. Each Way Extra gives you the option to increase or decrease the number of places in a race when you are betting Each Way on selected Horse Races. T&Cs apply. Registration required. Read More

Odds Comparison

About the Epsom Derby Stakes

The Epsom Derby, commonly known as “The Derby,” is one of the most iconic and prestigious horse races in the world. Held annually on the first Saturday of June at Epsom Downs Racecourse in Surrey, England, it is a Group 1 flat race open to three-year-old colts and fillies. The race covers a distance of 1 mile, 4 furlongs, and 6 yards (2,420 meters), testing both the speed and endurance of its competitors.

Founded in 1780 by Edward Smith-Stanley, the 12th Earl of Derby, the race has a storied history and is a centerpiece of the British social and sporting calendar. It is the second leg of the English Triple Crown, preceded by the 2,000 Guineas and followed by the St Leger Stakes.

The Derby’s challenging course includes the infamous Tattenham Corner, making it a true test of a horse’s versatility and a jockey’s skill. Winning the Epsom Derby is considered one of the greatest achievements in thoroughbred racing, often leading to international acclaim and substantial breeding value for the victors.

Recent Winners

2023Auguste RodinRyan MooreAidan O’Brien
2022Desert CrownRichard KingscoteSir Michael Stoute
2021AdayarAdam KirbyCharlie Appleby
2020SerpentineEmmet McNamaraAidan O’Brien
2019Anthony Van DyckSeamie HeffernanAidan O’Brien