Arkle Challenge Trophy

Date Time Class Distance
Tue 13th March 2018 14:10 Grade 1 2 miles

Arkle Challenge Trophy tip:


One of the genuine bankers at Cheltenham 2018, Footpad has been destroying the opposition this season and will be strong on the heavy ground at Cheltenham On Tuesday.

Best Price Evens @ Paddy Power

Arkle Challenge Trophy Results

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Footpad R Walsh W P Mullins 6 71
2nd 14 Brain Power Nico de Boinville N J Henderson 7 71
3rd 0.75 Petit Mouchoir D N Russell H de Bromhead 7 71
4th 38 Saint Calvados Aidan Coleman H Whittington 5 71
5th 71 Robinshill Sam Twiston-Davies N A Twiston-Davies 7 71
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

Arkle Challenge Trophy Offers

About the Arkle Challenge Trophy

The Arkle Challenge Trophy is perhaps the most prestigious novices chase in the United Kingdom, and the first steeplechase run at the Cheltenham Festival annually. Run over a distance of 2 miles, it is open to 5-year-old and above novice chasers. The race takes place on the Cheltenham Old Course, with 13 fences cleared on the way to the finishing post.

Named after one of the most beloved Cheltenham Gold Cup winners of all time, the Arkle has produced several Queen Mother Champion Chase winners, as well as one Gold Cup champion. However, a win in the Arkle is a major career achievement in its own right and the race is easily the most popular novices chase run at the Cheltenham Festival.

Betting on the Arkle Challenge Trophy

Like the Supreme Novices Hurdle, the Arkle Challenge Trophy’s betting markets are distorted by its position in the race card. As the first chase of the festival it draws a lot of attention and it’s not uncommon for the favourite to run out under-priced.  However, because the race does draw some extremely talented horses, the market can still be quite good at picking a winner, particularly when a horse starts at under Evens.

Other than that form is key to winning the Arkle Challenge Trophy. Wins in Grade 1 or 2 races prior to the Arkle single out the genuine contenders, and a win last time out is a virtual requirement to be taken seriously for this race. However, this aside don’t be afraid of looking at horses trading at higher prices – a 33/1 entry won the Arkle as recent as 2014.

Arkle Challenge Trophy Sign-up Offer