Close Brothers Mares Hurdle

Date Time Class Distance
Tue 16th March 2021 16:10 Grade 2 2 miles 4 furlongs


Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Black Tears J W Kennedy Mrs D Foster
2nd hd Concertista P Townend W P Mullins
3rd 2.75 Roksana Harry Skelton D Skelton
4th 1.75 Indefatigable Rex Dingle P R Webber
5th 7 My Sister Sarah B J Cooper W P Mullins
6th 3.25 Floressa Nico de Boinville N J Henderson
7th 6.5 Minella Melody Rachael Blackmore H de Bromhead
8th 0.5 Great White Shark D E Mullins W P Mullins
9th 7 Dame De Compagnie Aidan Coleman N J Henderson
10th 5.5 Whitehotchillifili S Bowen Harry Fry
- - Dolcita Unknown Unknown    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

Close Brothers Mares Hurdle Offers

About the Close Brothers Mares Hurdle

The Close Brothers Mares Hurdle is the UK’s premier mares hurdle race. Run over a distance of 2 miles 4 furlongs it attracts the top 4-year-old and above mare and filly hurdlers in the UK, and star mares will often run in this race in preference to the Champion Hurdle. The race features 9 fences, and is contested over the Cheltenham Old Course.

The Mares Hurdle set the scene for one of the most impressive winning runs in National Hunt history. Star mare Quevega won the Mares hurdle six seasons in a row between 2009 and 2013. Quevega’s run, along with a couple of other wins has allowed trainer Willie Mullins to virtually monopolize the race since its inception in 2008.

Betting on the Close Brothers Mares Hurdle

When a top class filly swerves the Champion Hurdle to run in this race you’re looking at as good a banker as you’d like, as a horse of this quality will often outshine the more modest talents in the field. In practise this is exactly what has happened in the race’s short history.

The betting markets are alert to this trend, which means the Close Brothers Mares Hurdle has a fairly impressive success rate when it comes to singling out the eventual winner as an antepost favourite. Even when weaker fields run, only one or two horses will stand out, in which case it’s always an idea to get behind the one who offers each-way value.

Close Brothers Mares Hurdle Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2020 Honeysuckle 6 Rachael Blackmore Henry de Bromhead
2019 Roksana 7 Harry Skelton Dan Skelton
2018 Benie Des Dieux 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2017 Apple's Jade 5 Bryan Cooper Gordon Elliott
2016 Vroum Vroum Mag 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins

More past winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2015 Glens Melody 7 Paul Townend Willie Mullins
2014 Quevega 10 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2013 Quevega 9 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2012 Quevega 8 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2011 Quevega 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2010 Quevega 6 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2009 Quevega 5 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2008 Whiteoak 5 Jason Maguire Donald McCain, Jr.


Close Brothers Mares Hurdle Sign-up Offer