Supreme Novices Hurdle

Date Time Class Distance
Tue 12th March 2019 13:30 Grade 1 2 miles

Supreme Novices Hurdle tip:


Supreme Novices Hurdle Antepost Odds

Indicated odds were updated on 2019-02-19 01:21 UTC. Please note that odds are subject to change.

Supreme Novices Hurdle Offers

About the Supreme Novices Hurdle

The Supreme Novices Hurdle is the premier race for 4-year-old and above novice hurdlers in the UK. It is distinguished from the Cheltenham Festival’s Triumph Hurdle by being raced over a slightly shorter distance on the Old Course, and it’s allowance for older novices to compete in the race. 8 hurdles are jumped in the Supreme Novices Hurdle.

As the race that gets the Cheltenham Festival underway, the Supreme Novices Hurdle attracts almost as much interest as the Festival’s feature races. It is also a target of some top quality National Hunt novices, which has resulted in the Supreme Novices Hurdle blooding a number of champions that have gone on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup and the Queen Mother Champion Chase.

Betting on the Supreme Novices Hurdle

Thanks to its billing as the race that starts the Cheltenham Festival, a lot of money goes into the Supreme Novices Hurdle betting markets each year. This means prices will reflect the fact that bookies are going to defend their bottom line from favourites. The antepost favourite will usually start the race under-priced, with bets from less experienced punters keeping prices low.

While price should not influence your Supreme Novices Hurdle bets, there are a few key things to look out for when making a selection. If the winner of the season’s Deloitte Novices Hurdle makes an appearance, it should be taken seriously. And any winner of a Novices Hurdle last time out deserves a closer look, with the Grade 2 Moscow Flyer Hurdle another useful testing ground.

So look for quality and form and don’t be swayed by prices – horses priced over 10/1 frequently win this race.

Supreme Novices Hurdle Sign-up Offer