Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase

Date Time Class Distance
Wed 13th March 2019 16:10 Grade 1 3m 7f

Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase Results

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Tiger Roll K M Donoghue G Elliott 9 71
2nd 22 Josies Orders M P Walsh E Bolger 11 71
3rd 0.75 Urgent De Gregaine Felix de Giles E Clayeux 11 71
4th 2.75 Ballycasey Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins 12 71
5th 5 Jarob M A Enright Gearoid O'loughlin 12 71
6th 9 Kingswell Theatre T Scudamore M Scudamore 10 71
7th 10 Vyta Du Roc D A Jacob N J Henderson 10 71
8th 10 Fact Of The Matter G Sheehan Jamie Snowden 9 71
9th shd Aubusson Chester Williams Mrs J Williams 10 71
10th 3.25 Amazing Comedy J Plouganou D Cottin 9 71
PU Ultragold H Cobden C L Tizzard 11 71
U Tea For Two Lizzie Kelly Mrs J Williams 10 71
PU Bless The Wings D N Russell G Elliott 14 71
PU Devils Bride Rachael Blackmore H de Bromhead 12 71
PU Auvergnat D J McInerney E Bolger 9 71
- - Hurricane Darwin Unknown Unknown    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase Offers

About the Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase

The Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase is the second longest race run at the Cheltenham Festival, and the longest run over the cross country course. Originally a handicap it has been bumped up to Conditions status. The race covers a distance of 3 miles 7 furlongs, with 32 obstacles encountered during the course of the race.

The Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase is a tough enough test that it tends to attract horses who’re likely to compete in the Grand National later in the season. The arduous course tends to favour older horses with more experience and staying power. Surprisingly for a race that was a handicap for much of its history, the Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase has produced two double winners.

Betting on the Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase

The Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase isn’t any old handicap, and a fairly specialized skillset is required to come out on top of this course and race. Falling towards the end of the day it also attracts less money from the general public than higher rated races earlier on the card.

In practice this means betting markets do a fairly job of picking out genuine contenders, if you want to take your direction from the odds. If not, you’re going to need to look out for older horses (8 or above) who ideally have some experience over cross country tracks, who’re also running within range of their handicap. Bet for the places and you’re in with a solid chance of a return.

Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase Sign-up Offer