Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase

Date Time Class Distance
Wed 16th March 2022 15:30 Grade 1 2 miles


Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Energumene P Townend W P Mullins
2nd 8.5 Funambule Sivola Charlie Deutsch Miss V Williams
3rd 4.5 Envoi Allen Rachael Blackmore H de Bromhead
4th 12 Politologue H Cobden P F Nicholls
5th 2.25 Put The Kettle On Aidan Coleman H de Bromhead
- - Nube Negra Unknown Unknown    
- - Chacun Pour Soi Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins    
- - Shishkin N de Boinville N J Henderson    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

Queen Mother Champion Chase Offers

About the Queen Mother Champion Chase

The Queen Mother Champion Chase is the premier 2 mile steeplechase in National Hunt racing. Run over the Old Course at Cheltenham on the second day of the Festival, with 12 fences jumped on the way to the finishing post. The race is open to 5-year-old and above steeplechase racehorses.

The Queen Mother Champion Chase attracts the finest 2 mile specialists in jumps racing, as well as horses who’re strong over 2.5 miles. A win in the race is typically a crowning achievement in a horse’s career, and multiple winners rank as all time greats in the sport of National Hunt racing.

Betting on the Queen Mother Champion Chase

The Queen Mother Champion Chase attracts widespread public interest in the UK, which means that betting markets usually see the favourite’s odds weighted down by money from casual punters. This has translated into a pretty poor track record by antepost favourites, with short priced entries frequently failing to make the places.

The Clarence House Chase is the key trial for the Queen Mother Champion Chase, and the winner is always worth a punt if they make the final field. The same goes for horses who have won the Arkle Challenge Trophy in previous visits to Cheltenham. Horses who have won both races in their careers are the strongest Champion Chase candidates you’re likely to find.

Queen Mother Champion Chase Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer  
2021 Put the Kettle On 7 Aidan Coleman Henry de Bromhead  
2020 Politologue 9 Harry Skelton Paul Nicholls  
2019 Altior 9 Nico de Boinville Nicky Henderson  
2018 Altior 8 Nico de Boinville Nicky Henderson  
2017 Special Tiara 10 Noel Fehily Henry de Bromhead  

More past winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2016 Sprinter Sacre 10 Nico de Boinville Nicky Henderson  
2015 Dodging Bullets 7 Sam Twiston-Davies Paul Nicholls  
2014 Sire de Grugy 8 Jamie Moore Gary Moore
2013 Sprinter Sacre 7 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2012 Finian's Rainbow 9 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2011 Sizing Europe 9 Andrew Lynch Henry de Bromhead
2010 Big Zeb 9 Barry Geraghty Colm Murphy
2009 Master Minded 6 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls
2008 Master Minded 5 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls
2007 Voy Por Ustedes 6 Robert Thornton Alan King
2006 Newmill 8 Andrew McNamara John Joseph Murphy
2005 Moscow Flyer 11 Barry Geraghty Jessica Harrington
2004 Azertyuiop 7 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls
2003 Moscow Flyer 9 Barry Geraghty Jessica Harrington
2002 Flagship Uberalles 8 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2001 no race   due to foot-and-mouth-crisis  
2000 Edredon Bleu 8 Tony McCoy Henrietta Knight
1999 Call Equiname 9 Mick Fitzgerald Paul Nicholls
1998 One Man 10 Brian Harding Gordon W. Richards
1997 Martha's Son 10 Rodney Farrant Tim Forster
1996 Klairon Davis 7 Francis Woods Arthur Moore
1995 Viking Flagship 8 Charlie Swan David Nicholson
1994 Viking Flagship 7 Adrian Maguire David Nicholson
1993 Deep Sensation 8 Declan Murphy Josh Gifford
1992 Remittance Man 8 Jamie Osborne Nicky Henderson
1991 Katabatic 8 Simon McNeill Andrew Turnell
1990 Barnbrook Again 9 Hywel Davies David Elsworth
1989 Barnbrook Again 8 Simon Sherwood David Elsworth
1988 Pearlyman 9 Tom Morgan John Edwards
1987 Pearlyman 8 Peter Scudamore John Edwards
1986 Buck House 8 Tommy Carmody Mouse Morris
1985 Badsworth Boy 10 Robert Earnshaw Monica Dickinson
1984 Badsworth Boy 9 Robert Earnshaw Michael Dickinson
1983 Badsworth Boy 8 Robert Earnshaw Michael Dickinson
1982 Rathgorman 10 Kevin Whyte Michael Dickinson
1981 Drumgora 9 Frank Berry Arthur Moore
1980 Another Dolly [b] 10 Sam Morshead Fred Rimell
1979 Hilly Way 9 Ted Walsh[a] Peter McCreery
1978 Hilly Way 8 Tommy Carmody Peter McCreery
1977 Skymas 12 Mouse Morris Brian Lusk
1976 Skymas 11 Mouse Morris Brian Lusk
1975 Lough Inagh 8 Sean Barker Jim Dreaper
1974 Royal Relief 10 Bill Smith Edward Courage
1973 Inkslinger 6 Tommy Carberry Dan Moore
1972 Royal Relief 8 Bill Smith Edward Courage
1971 Crisp 8 Paul Kelleway Fred Winter
1970 Straight Fort 7 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper
1969 Muir 10 Ben Hannon Tom Dreaper
1968 Drinny's Double 10 Frank Nash Bob Turnell
1967 Drinny's Double 9 Frank Nash Bob Turnell
1966 Flyingbolt 7 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper
1965 Dunkirk 8 Dave Dick Peter Cazalet
1964 Ben Stack 7 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper
1963 Sandy Abbot 8 Stan Mellor George Owen
1962 Piperton 8 Dave Dick Archie Thomlinson
1961 Fortria 9 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper
1960 Fortria 8 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper
1959 Quita Que 10 Bunny Cox Dan Moore


Queen Mother Champion Chase Sign-up Offer