RSA Chase

Date Time Class Distance
Wed 14th March 2018 14:10 Grade 1 3m 110y

RSA Chase tip

Black Corton

One of Paul Nicholls' stronger entries at Cheltenham 2018, Black Corton is already a Grade 1 winner, comfortable on soft ground and can be backed each-way.

Best Price 8/1 @ Boylesports

RSA Chase Results

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Presenting Percy D N Russell P G Kelly 7 71
2nd 7 Monalee N D Fehily H de Bromhead 7 71
3rd 7 Elegant Escape H Cobden C L Tizzard 6 71
4th 1.5 Ballyoptic Sam Twiston-Davies N A Twiston-Davies 71
5th 1.75 Black Corton Bryony Frost P F Nicholls 7 71
PU Full Irish L P Aspell Miss E C Lavelle 7 71
F Bonbon Au Miel P Townend W P Mullins 7 71
PU Allysson Monterg J J Burke Richard Hobson 8 71
F Al Boum Photo R Walsh W P Mullins 6 71
PU Dounikos J W Kennedy G Elliott 7 71

RSA Chase Offers

About the RSA Chase

The RSA Chase is the UK’s premier middle distance steeplechase for novices, and is an important proving ground for horses with aspirations of winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup. The RSA Chase is run over 3 miles ½ furlong over the Cheltenham Old Course, and features 19 fences. Entry is open to 5-year-old novice racehorses.

The RSA Chase pulls in some of the top rated novice talent in European jumps racing. A number of horses have won the race before winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup. These include the legendary Arkle, Florida Pearl, Denman and most recently, Lord Windmere.

Betting on the RSA Chase

The intensity and distance covered in the RSA Chase places major demands on the field of novices that compete in it. With a high attrition rate, it’s common to see horses drop out of the race or suffer falls. These factors have had a substantial impact on the accuracy of the betting markets, with the race frequently going to horses priced over the 10/1 margin, with lower priced and higher rated racehorses frequently failing to follow through.

To complicate matters it’s not unusual for the winner to find form in this race. With all this in mind you’re best off not going along too enthusiastically with the markets on this one, and keeping your bigger bets for more bankable races. This is instead a good opportunity to look outside the obvious candidates for outsider candidates that may not be in good form but have shown potential over this course or distance in earlier races.

RSA Chase Sign-up Offer