Turners Novices Chase

Date Time Class Distance
Thur 17th March 2022 13:30 Grade 1 2 miles 4 furlongs


Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Bob Olinger Rachael Blackmore H de Bromhead
2nd 40 Busselton J J Slevin Joseph P O'Brien
3rd 28 El Barra Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins
- - Galopin Des Champs P Townend W P Mullins    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

Marsh Novices Chase Offers

About the Turner Novices Chase

The Turner Novices’ Chase (formerly run as the Marsh Novices Chase), is a 2 mile 4 furlong Grade 1 chase run over the Cheltenham New Course. The race features 14 fences and is open to 5-year-old and above novice chasers.

The Marsh Novices Chase is the UK’s premier novices steeplechase over 2 mile 4 furlongs. One of the more recent additions to the Cheltenham Festival, it has nevertheless produced a couple of impressive steeplechasers, including Irish champion chaser, Sir Des Champs, and Ryanair Chase winner, Vautour.

Betting on the Turner Novices Chase

Highly rated racehorses with good recent form (a win last time out is virtually essential) are the best picks for the Marsh Novices’ Chase. These cues are so clear that the betting markets will usually have picked out the genuine contenders, and of the first two in the betting can be expected to go on to produce the race winner, with wins by antepost favourites common.

However, the pace of the race combined with the high number of fences can throw a spanner in the works. Furthermore antepost favourites will be under-priced thanks to downward pressure on prices from uneducated punters getting behind the popular entries. Try get your bets in as soon as no-runner no-bet rules are introduced to get the best price on the top candidates.

Turner Novices Chase Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2021 Chantry House 7 Nico de Boinville Nicky Henderson
2020 Samcro 8 Davy Russell Gordon Elliott
2019 Defi du Seuil 6 Barry Geraghty Philip Hobbs
2018 Shattered Love 7 Jack Kennedy Gordon Elliott
2017 Yorkhill 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins

More past winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2016 Black Hercules 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2015 Vautour 6 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2014 Taquin du Seuil 7 Tony McCoy Jonjo O'Neill
2013 Benefficient 7 Bryan Cooper Tony Martin
2012 Sir Des Champs 6 Davy Russell Willie Mullins
2011 Noble Prince 7 Tony McCoy Paul Nolan


Turner Novices Chase Sign-up Offer