The Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle

Date Time Class Distance
Fri 18th March 2022 14:50 Grade 1 2 miles 1 furlong


Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st The Nice Guy S F O'Keeffe W P Mullins
2nd 5 Minella Cocooner P Townend W P Mullins
3rd 4.25 Bardenstown Lad S Bowen J C McConnell
4th 4 Ballygrifincottage Harry Skelton D Skelton
5th 5 Green Book Charlie Deutsch Miss V Williams
6th 2 Ramillies B J Cooper W P Mullins
7th 2.25 Mahler Mission James Bowen J C McConnell
8th 3.75 Brorson J E Moore M Keighley
9th 16 Good Time Jonny K C Sexton A J Martin
10th 9.5 Shantreusse Rachael Blackmore H de Bromhead
11th 33 Eric Bloodaxe J J Slevin Joseph P O'Brien
- - The Real Whacker Unknown Unknown    
- - Hillcrest Richard Patrick H D Daly    
- - Classic Getaway Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins    
- - Where It All Began Adrian Heskin G Elliott    
- - Ginto J W Kennedy G Elliott    
- - Idas Boy Unknown Unknown    
- - Stag Horn Nick Scholfield Archie Watson    
- - Falcon Eight Unknown Unknown    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

The Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle Offers

About the The Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle

The Albert Barlett Novices’ Hurdle, is the UK’s premier stayers race for novice hurdlers. Run over a distance of 3 miles on the Cheltenham New Course, the race features 12 hurdles. Entry to The Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle is open to 4-year-old and above novice hurdlers.

The Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle is one of the more recent additions to the Cheltenham Festival, and was promoted to Grade 1 status in 2008. The race attracts horses that will be aimed at the Stayers’ Hurdle later in their careers, although no Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle winner has gone on to achieve this double. However, 2011 winner, Bob’s Worth, went on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 2013.

Betting on The Albert Bartlett Novices' Hurdle

Winners of The Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle tend to have shown form over 3 miles ahead of their Cheltenham win. In fact a win over 3 miles prior to travelling to Cheltenham is the single strongest indicator of a potential winner. Keep in mind that a poor showing in a race over a shorter distance last time out may raise a horses’ price without having any real bearing on their prospects in this race.

Don’t allow yourself to be swayed by the markets. This race takes place just before the Cheltenham Gold Cup so markets are loaded with money from the general public, and favourites will start off well under-priced. While favourites do win this race, it’s just as common for horses priced well over 10/1 to take the win. So look for each-way value and stay away from short priced favourites.

Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2021 Vanillier 6 Mark Walsh Gavin Patrick Cromwell
2020 Monkfish 6 Paul Townsend Margaret Mullins
2019 Minella Indo 6 Rachael Blackmore Henry de Bromhead
2018 Kilbricken Storm 7 Harry Cobden Colin Tizzard
2017 Penhill 6 Paul Townend Willie Mullins

More past winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2016 Unowhatimeanharry 8 Noel Fehily Harry Fry
2015 Martello Tower 7 Adrian Heskin Margaret Mullins
2014 Very Wood 5 Paul Carberry Noel Meade
2013 At Fishers Cross 6 Tony McCoy Rebecca Curtis
2012 Brindisi Breeze 6 Campbell Gillies Lucinda Russell
2011 Bobs Worth 6 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2010 Berties Dream 7 Andrew Lynch Paul John Gilligan
2009 Weapon's Amnesty 6 Davy Russell Charles Byrnes
2008 Nenuphar Collonges 7 Robert Thornton Alan King
2007 Wichita Lineman 6 Tony McCoy Jonjo O'Neill
2006 Black Jack Ketchum 7 Tony McCoy Jonjo O'Neill
2005 Moulin Riche 5 Robert Thornton François Doumen


The Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle Sign-up Offer