Champion Hurdle

Date Time Class Distance
Tue 12th March 2019 15:30 Grade 1 2 miles 110 yards

Champion Hurdle Results

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Espoir D'allen M P Walsh G P Cromwell 5 74
2nd 15 Melon P Townend W P Mullins 7 74
3rd nk Silver Streak Adam Wedge Evan Williams 6 74
4th 1.5 Laurina Ruby Walsh W P Mullins 6 71
5th 7 Verdana Blue D N Russell N J Henderson 7 71
6th 6 Apple's Jade J W Kennedy G Elliott 7 71
7th 45 Global Citizen David Bass Ben Pauling 7 74
PU Brain Power Nico de Boinville N J Henderson 8 74
F Buveur D'air B J Geraghty N J Henderson 8 74
B Sharjah Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins 6 74
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

Champion Hurdle Offers

About the Champion Hurdle

The Champion Hurdle is the premier 2 mile hurdles race in National Hunt racing. Run on the Old Course at Cheltenham, the race features eight hurdles. Entry to the race is open to 4-year-old and above hurdlers. The exact race distance extends a touch over 2 miles, with an extra half furlong on the run-in.

The Champion Hurdle typically attracts the top 2 mile hurdlers in the sport, although star mares are sometimes preferred for the Mares Hurdle later in the day. Multiple wins in the Champion Hurdle will usually secure a horse status as an all-time great. Only one horse, the mare Dawn Run, has won the Champion Hurdle as well as the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Betting on the Champion Hurdle

A huge amount of activity takes place on the Champion Hurdle betting markets, with casual racing fans piling money into the race. The antepost favourite is often deserving of its billing, but the weight of money getting behind its market position will push odds well below statistical probability of winning the race. As a result its not unusual for horses priced under Evens to lose this race.

If you’re looking for direction on where to put your money, restrict your bets to horses with official ratings of 160 or higher. Class really does count in this race. Also keep an eye out for the winners of the Irish Champion Hurdle and the Christmas Hurdle if they make the final field, as those races serve as quality trials for Irish and English racehorses respectively.

Champion Hurdle Sign-up Offer