Champion Bumper

Date Time Class Distance
Wed 11th March 2020 17:30 Grade 1 2m 110y

Champion Bumper Results

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Ferny Hollow P Townend W P Mullins
2nd 2.5 Appreciate It Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins
3rd 3.25 Queens Brook Mr J J Codd G Elliott
4th nk Third Time Lucki Harry Skelton D Skelton
5th hd Eskylane D N Russell G Elliott
6th 4.5 Ocean Wind Aidan Coleman R A Teal
7th 8 Julies Stowaway D E Mullins Ms M Mullins
8th 3.75 The Glancing Queen Tom Cannon A King
9th 1 Good Time Jonny R M Power A J Martin
10th 0.5 One True King Sam Twiston-Davies N A Twiston-Davies
11th 0.5 Five Bar Brian D J Mullins W P Mullins
12th 3.5 Mahler Allstar M P Walsh Jonathan Sweeney
13th 9 Ask A Honey Bee Mr Liam Harrison F O'Brien
14th 1.75 Can You Call Mr J Martin Andrew J Martin
15th 1.25 Darling Daughter Ms Lisa O'Neill G Elliott
16th nk Adrimel R Johnson Tom Lacey
17th 0.5 Israel Champ T Scudamore D Pipe
18th nk Panic Attack B S Hughes D Pipe
19th hd Audacity G Sheehan W Greatrex
20th hd Let Me Entertain U Brendan Powell M Scudamore
21th nse Brief Ambition Adam Wedge F O'Brien
22th shd Linelee King Adrian Heskin Olly Murphy
23th 43 Snowpiercer Miss L Brooke Lady Susan Brooke
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

Champion Bumper Offers

About the Champion Bumper

The Champion Bumper is the only Grade 1 flat race in UK National Hunt racing. The race is run over a distance of 2 miles and half a furlong on the Cheltenham Old Course and is the last race on the card for the second day of the Festival. Entry to the race is restricted to horses aged 4- to 6-years-old.

Despite being a flat race, the Champion Bumper has produced several champions that have gone on to achieve success in jumps races. These include the likes of champion steeplechasers Florida Pearl and Cue Card, while Dunguib and Champagne Fever went on to win major hurdles races.

Betting on the Champion Bumper

The Champion Bumper is one of the easier races to untangle when it comes to telling which horses are genuine candidates. Recent winners have all shown strong form ahead of the Champion Bumper, and a win or second place last time out is a virtual prerequisite for a win.

The markets will usually pick out the top contenders quite accurately, and the top 3-4 in the betting will usually meet the above requirements and wins by antepost favourites are common. This leaves you to decide between an all-or-nothing punt on the favourite, or putting your money behind a higher priced horse that also offers value on the places.

Champion Bumper Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2019 Envoi Allen 5 Jamie Codd Gordon Elliott
2018 Relegate 5 Katie Walsh Willie Mullins
2017 Fayonagh 6 Jamie Codd Gordon Elliott
2016 Ballyandy 5 Sam Twiston-Davies Nigel Twiston-Davies
2015 Moon Racer 6 Tom Scudamore David Pipe

More past winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2014 Silver Concorde 6 Robbie McNamara Dermot Weld
2013 Briar Hill 5 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2012 Champagne Fever 5 Patrick Mullins Willie Mullins
2011 Cheltenian 5 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2010 Cue Card 4 Joe Tizzard Colin Tizzard
2009 Dunguib 6 Brian O'Connell Philip Fenton
2008 Cousin Vinny 5 Patrick Mullins Willie Mullins
2007 Cork All Star 5 Barry Geraghty Jessica Harrington
2006 Hairy Molly 6 Paul Carberry Joseph Crowley
2005 Missed That 6 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2004 Total Enjoyment 5 Jim Culloty Tom Cooper
2003 Liberman 5 Tony McCoy Martin Pipe
2002 Pizarro 5 Jamie Spencer Edward O'Grady
2001 no race   due to foot-and-mouth crisis  
2000 Joe Cullen 5 Charlie Swan Willie Mullins
1999 Monsignor 5 Brendan Powell Mark Pitman
1998 Alexander Banquet 5 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
1997 Florida Pearl 5 Richard Dunwoody Willie Mullins
1996 Wither or Which 5 Willie Mullins Willie Mullins
1995 Dato Star 4 Mark Dwyer Malcolm Jefferson
1994 Mucklemeg 6 Charlie Swan Edward O'Grady
1993 Rhythm Section 4 Paul Carberry Homer Scott
1992 Montelado 5 Richard Dunwoody Pat Flynn


Champion Bumper Sign-up Offer