Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle

Date Time Class Distance
Wed 16th March 2022 13:30 Grade 1 2m 5f


Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Sir Gerhard P Townend W P Mullins
2nd 3.5 Three Stripe Life D N Russell G Elliott
3rd 9 Whatdeawant D E Mullins W P Mullins
4th 8.5 I Am Maximus N de Boinville N J Henderson
5th 33 Hemlock D J O'Keeffe T Gibney
6th 6 Haxo S F O'Keeffe W P Mullins
7th 4 Scarface Brendan Powell C L Tizzard
- - Stage Star H Cobden P F Nicholls    
- - Journey With Me Rachael Blackmore H de Bromhead    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.

Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle Offers

About the Ballymore Novices' Hurdle

The Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle is the premier 2 mile 4 furlong novices hurdle in the United Kingdom. The race is open to 4-year-old and above novice hurdlers, who are required to jump 10 hurdles on the way to the finishing post.

The Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle attracts strong fields. As a result it has been a stepping stone to greatness for a number of famous National Hunt racehorses, including multiple Champion Hurdle winners Istabraq and Hardy Eustace.

Betting on the Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle

The Ballymore Novices' Hurdle is one of the toughest Grade 1 races at the Cheltenham Festival to call. The young, inexperienced but talented field is enough to make a mockery of betting markets and pundits predictions.

Generally horses that are rated 150 or higher with strong recent form are going to be worth a closer look, although these will typically be at the top of the markets anyway. One strategy is to look out rapidly improving horses rather than the obvious candidates, as these have the potential to storm to victory at better odds than you’ll find on the top two to three in the betting.

Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2021 Bob Olinger 6 Rachael Blackmore Henry de Bromhead
2020 Envoi Allen 6 Davy Russel Gordon Elliott
2019 City Island 6 Mark Walsh Martin Brassil
2018 Samcro 6 Jack Kennedy Gordon Elliott
2017 Willoughby Court 6 David Bass Ben Pauling

More past winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2016 Yorkhill 6 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2015 Windsor Park 6 Davy Russell Dermot Weld
2014 Faugheen 6 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2013 The New One 5 Sam Twiston-Davies Nigel Twiston-Davies
2012 Simonsig 6 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2011 First Lieutenant 6 Davy Russell Mouse Morris
2010 Peddlers Cross 5 Jason Maguire Donald McCain, Jr.
2009 Mikael d'Haguenet 5 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2008 Fiveforthree 6 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2007 Massini's Maguire 6 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2006 Nicanor 5 Paul Carberry Noel Meade
2005 No Refuge 5 Graham Lee Howard Johnson
2004 Fundamentalist 6 Carl Llewellyn Nigel Twiston-Davies
2003 Hardy Eustace 6 Kieran Kelly Dessie Hughes
2002 Galileo 6 Jason Maguire Tom George
2001 no race   due to foot and mouth disease
2000 Monsignor 6 Norman Williamson Mark Pitman
1999 Barton 6 Lorcan Wyer Tim Easterby
1998 French Holly 7 Andrew Thornton Ferdy Murphy
1997 Istabraq 5 Charlie Swan Aidan O'Brien
1996 Urubande 6 Charlie Swan Aidan O'Brien
1995 Putty Road 5 Norman Williamson David Nicholson
1994 Danoli 6 Charlie Swan Tom Foley
1993 Gaelstrom 6 Carl Llewellyn Nigel Twiston-Davies
1992 Thetford Forest 5 Richard Dunwoody David Nicholson
1991 Crystal Spirit 4 Jimmy Frost Ian Balding
1990 Regal Ambition 6 Peter Scudamore Martin Pipe
1989 Sayfar's Lad 5 Mark Perrett Martin Pipe
1988 Rebel Song 6 Simon Sherwood Oliver Sherwood
1987 The West Awake 6 Simon Sherwood Oliver Sherwood
1986 Ten Plus 6 Kevin Mooney Fulke Walwyn
1985 Asir 5 Ronnie Beggan Paul Kelleway
1984 Fealty 4 Seamus O'Neill Peter Brookshaw
1983 Sabin du Loir 4 Graham Bradley Michael Dickinson
1982 Mister Donovan 6 Tommy Ryan Edward O'Grady
1981 Gaye Chance 6 Sam Morshead Fred Rimell
1980 Drumlargan 6 Tommy Ryan Edward O'Grady
1979 Venture to Cognac 6 Oliver Sherwood Fred Winter
1978 Mr Kildare 5 Tommy Carmody Liam Browne
1977 Counsel Cottage 6 Sean Treacy Paddy Mullins
1976 Parkhill 5 Dessie Hughes Mick O'Toole
1975 Davy Lad 5 Dessie Hughes Mick O'Toole
1974 Brown Lad 8 Ron Barry Paddy Osborne
1973 Willie Wumpkins 5 Pat Colville Adrian Maxwell
1972 Even Dawn 5 Ron Hyett Katie Gaze
1971 Midsprite 5 Macer Gifford Harry Thomson Jones


Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle Sign-up Offer