Stayers' Hurdle

Date Time Class Distance
Thur 15th March 2018 15:30 Grade 1 3 miles

Stayers Hurdle tip


Beat Supersundae ver 3 miles in the Liverpool Hurdle last season and shouldn't be judged for his recent results over shorter distances. Offers good each way value at Boylesports.

Best Price @ Boylesports

Stayers' Hurdle Results

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Penhill P Townend W P Mullins 7 74
2nd 2 Supasundae R M Power Mrs J Harrington 8 74
3rd 3 Wholestone Aidan Coleman N A Twiston-Davies 7 74
4th 1 Colin's Sister P J Brennan F O'Brien 7 71
5th nk Sam Spinner Joe Colliver Jedd O'Keeffe 6 74
6th 0.5 Yanworth B J Geraghty A King 8 74
7th 0.75 The Worlds End A P Heskin T R George 7 74
8th 0.5 L'ami Serge D A Jacob N J Henderson 8 74
9th 6 Augusta Kate D J Mullins W P Mullins 7 71
10th 1.75 Unowhatimeanharry N D Fehily Harry Fry 74
11th 2.25 Donna's Diamond Callum Bewley C Grant 9 74
12th hd The New One Sam Twiston-Davies N A Twiston-Davies 10 74
13th 1 Lil Rockerfeller T E Whelan N B King 7 74
F Let's Dance D E Mullins W P Mullins 6 71
F Bacardys Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins 7 74
- - Apple's Jade Unknown Unknown    
- - Old Guard Unknown Unknown    

Stayers' Hurdle Offers

About the Stayers Hurdle

The World Hurdle, recently rebranded as the Stayers’ Hurdle, is the most prestigious 3 mile hurdles race in National Hunt racing. The race is open to 4-year-old and above hurdlers who are required to jump 12 hurdles in the course of the race.

Multiple winners of the Stayers’ Hurdle are considered amongst the greatest racehorses in National Hunt history, and include the likes of Inglis Drever and Big Buck’s. The quality of entries tends to limit the size of the field, with betting usually dominated by one or two outstanding favourites.

Betting on the Stayers Hurdle

A proven record as a staying hurdler is the obvious prerequisite for a win in the Stayers’ Hurdle, with previous wins in Grade 1 staying hurdles races advantageous but not essential. The betting market will usually sort the top candidates according to these criteria, and the antepost favourite will typically have won one or more of the Grade 1 3 mile hurdles races earlier in the season.

In recent years these antepost favourites have had a good success rate, and even when the favourite fails you’ll rarely find a horse priced over 8/1 winning the race. This means you can focus your bets on the cluster of horses priced below 8/1. And if you’re not keen on the all-or-nothing risk of backing a short odds favourite, you’ll find a couple of handy each-way contenders priced within this margin.

Stayers' Hurdle Sign-up Offer