Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup

Date Time Class Distance
Fri 17th March 2023 16:10 Ungraded 3 miles 2.5 furlongs

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Premier Magic Mr B Gibbs B Gibbs
2nd 1.75 Its On The Line Mr Derek O'Connor Emmet Mullins
3rd 1.25 Shantou Flyer Miss Olive Nicholls S Loxton
4th 1 Rocky's Howya Mr M C O'Donovan D Queally
5th 2.5 Chris's Dream Miss Maxine O'Sullivan H de Bromhead
6th 3.5 Famous Clermont Mr William Biddick C Barber
7th hd Vaucelet Mr B O'Neill D M Christie
8th 0.5 Bob And Co Miss Alice Stevens Harry Derham
9th 20 Le Malin Mr N McParlan S McParlan
- - Not That Fuisse Unknown Unknown    
- - The Storyteller Mr J J Codd G Elliott    
- - Mighty Stowaway Mr Ben Sutton Alan Hill    
- - Wotzizname Miss Megan Bevan Diane Ward    
- - Secret Investor Miss Natalie Parker P F Nicholls    
- - Black Op Mr J Dawson Mrs E Clark    
- - Dorking Cock Mr B G Crawford S R B Crawford    
- - Dandy Dan Mr James King J Bourne    
- - Cat Tiger Mr Charlie Sprake P F Nicholls    
- - Moratorium Mr Martin McIntyre M Osborne    
- - Myth Buster Miss L Bradstock Mrs Sara V Bradstock    
- - Billaway Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins    
- - I K Brunel Miss Izzie Marshall Alan Hill    
- - Go Go Geronimo Mr T Chatfeild-Roberts Miss K Morgan    
- - Brain Power Mr D McGill W Ewing    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.
Premier Magic - - -
Myth Buster scratched
The Storyteller scratched
Mighty Stowaway scratched
Wotzizname scratched
Secret Investor scratched
Black Op scratched
Not That Fuisse scratched
Dandy Dan scratched
Cat Tiger scratched
Moratorium scratched
Dorking Cock scratched
Its On The Line - - -
Billaway scratched
I K Brunel scratched
Go Go Geronimo scratched
Le Malin - - -
Bob And Co - - -
Vaucelet - - -
Famous Clermont - - -
Chris's Dream - - -
Rocky's Howya - - -
Shantou Flyer - - -
Brain Power scratched
Indicated odds were updated on 0 UTC. Please note that odds are subject to change.

Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup Offers

About the Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup

The Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup is the UK’s Foxhunter Chase championship. The race is ungraded, and features 5-year-old and above racehorses and amateur jockeys. Because the race is run over the same 3 mile 2½ course as the Cheltenham Gold Cup, it is sometimes referred to as the Amateur Gold Cup.

22 fences are jumped during the race. The Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup has a tendency to produce repeat winners, with several horses taking the title twice in a row. One of these, Earthmover, performed the unusual feat of winning back the title after a five year interval.

Betting on the Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup

The combination of amateur riders with horses of modest ability makes for a particularly unpredictable races. The accuracy of the market in picking genuine contenders can vary wildly – favourites do win with reasonable frequency, but so do horses priced over 10/1. Looking at recent winners, decent form is a requirement to take this race.

A win last time out is not essential, but a place is, and the horse should have won within its last three races. Not all contestants will have run over 3 miles previously, but those that have, and did so recently, deserve special attention.

Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2022 Billaway 10 Patrick Mullins Willie Mullins
2021 Porlock Bay 10 Lorcan Williams Will Biddick
2020 It Came To Pass 10 Miss M. O'Sullivan Eugene O'Sullivan
2019 Hazel Hill 11 Alex Edwards Philip Rowley
2018 Pacha Du Polder 11 Harriet Tucker Paul Nicholls

More past winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2017 Pacha Du Polder 10 Bryony Frost Paul Nicholls
2016 On The Fringe 11 Nina Carberry Enda Bolger
2015 On The Fringe 10 Nina Carberry Enda Bolger
2014 Tammys Hill 9 James Smyth Liam Lennon
2013 Salsify 8 Colman Sweeney Roger Sweeney
2012 Salsify 7 Colman Sweeney Roger Sweeney
2011 Zemsky 8 Derek O'Connor Ian Ferguson
2010 Baby Run 10 Sam Twiston-Davies Nigel Twiston-Davies
2009 Cappa Bleu 7 Richard Burton Sheila Crow
2008 Amicelli 9 Oliver Greenall Cherry Coward
2007 Drombeag 9 J. T. McNamara Jonjo O'Neill
2006 Whyso Mayo 9 Damien Murphy Raymond Hurley
2005 Sleeping Night 9 Colman Sweeney Paul Nicholls
2004 Earthmover 13 Rilly Goschen Paul Nicholls
2003 Kingscliff 6 Richard Young Sally Alner
2002 Last Option 10 Fiona Needham Robin Tate
2001 no race   due to foot-and-mouth crisis  
2000 Cavalero 11 Alex Charles-Jones John Manners
1999 Castle Mane 7 Ben Pollock Caroline Bailey
1998 Earthmover 7 Joe Tizzard Richard Barber
1997 Fantus 10 Tim Mitchell Richard Barber
1996 Elegant Lord 8 Enda Bolger Enda Bolger
1995 Fantus 8 Polly Curling Richard Barber
1994 Double Silk 10 Ron Treloggen Reg Wilkins
1993 Double Silk 9 Ron Treloggen Reg Wilkins
1992 Rushing Wild 7 Justin Farthing Richard Barber
1991 Lovely Citizen 8 Willie O'Sullivan Eugene M. O'Sullivan
1990 Call Collect 9 Ray Martin John Parkes
1989 Three Counties 12 Katie Rimell Mercy Rimell
1988 Certain Light 10 Paul Hacking Jean Campbell
1987 Observe 11 Charlie Brooks Fred Winter
1986 Attitude Adjuster 6 Ted Walsh Mouse Morris
1985 Elmboy 7 Alan Hill Norman Mawle
1984 Venture to Cognac 11 Oliver Sherwood Fred Winter
1983 Eliogarty 8 Caroline Beasley Barry Kelly
1982 The Drunken Duck 9 Brod Munro-Wilson Brod Munro-Wilson
1981 Grittar 8 Dick Saunders Frank Gilman
1980 Rolls Rambler 9 Oliver Sherwood Fred Winter
1979 Spartan Missile 7 John Thorne John Thorne
1978 Timmie's Battle 7 Peter Grenall Arthur Stephenson
1977 Long Lane 9 Richard Shepherd Richard Shepherd
1976 False Note 10 Bryan Smart John Horton
1975 Real Rascal 12 George Hyatt Barbara Surman
1974 Corrie Burn 8 Ian Williams George Fairbairn
1973 Bullocks Horn 10 Lord Oaksey Bob Turnell
1972 Credit Call 8 Chris Collins Arthur Stephenson
1971 Hope Again 9 Richard Smith Denis Windell
1970 Highworth 11 Dick Woodhouse Dick Woodhouse
1969 Queens Guide 8 G. Wade Willie Wade
1968 Bright Beach 8 Charlie Macmillan Geordie Dun
1967 Mulbarton 11 Nick Gaselee Ian Pattullo
1966 Straight Lady 10 Richard Shepherd William Shepherd
1965 Woodside Terrace 12 Dick Woodhouse Dick Woodhouse
1964 Freddie 7 Alan Mactaggart Reg Tweedie
1963 Grand Morn II 9 R. Bloomfield G. Shepheard
1962 College Master 12 Laurie Morgan Laurie Morgan
1961 College Master 11 Laurie Morgan Laurie Morgan
1960 Whinstone Hill 11 Bobby Brewis Bobby Brewis
1959 Some Baby 10 John Thorne Tim Rootes
1958 Whinstone Hill 9 Bobby Brewis Bobby Brewis
1957 The Callant 9 John Scott-Aiton Stewart Wight
1956 The Callant 8 John Scott-Aiton Stewart Wight
1955 no race   due to snow  
1954 Happymint 9 Danny Moralee Stewart Wight
1953 Dunboy II (DH) 9 Charlie Scott P. Bruce
1953 Merry (DH) 13 Gay Kindersley Alec Kerr
1952 Parasol II 7 Ivor Kerwood A. Walton
1951 Halloween 6 Dickie Smalley Bill Wightman
1950 Greenwood 13 John Stuart-Evans J. T. Evans
1949 no race   due to frost  
1948 State Control 8 Harry Llewellyn Harry Llewellyn
1947 Lucky Purchase 9 John Nichols Sidney Banks
1946 Iloilo 9 Harry Freeman-Jackson Harry Freeman-Jackson


Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup Sign-up Offer