Cheltenham Gold Cup

Date Time Class Distance
Fri 17th March 2023 15:30 Grade 1 3 miles 2.5 furlongs

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Galopin Des Champs P Townend W P Mullins
2nd 7 Bravemansgame H Cobden P F Nicholls
3rd 6.5 Conflated Sam Ewing G Elliott
4th 1.25 Noble Yeats S Bowen Emmet Mullins
5th 0.5 Protektorat Harry Skelton D Skelton
6th 9 Royale Pagaille Charlie Deutsch Miss V Williams
7th 13 Eldorado Allen Brendan Powell Joe Tizzard
- - Minella Indo N de Boinville H de Bromhead    
- - A Plus Tard Rachael Blackmore H de Bromhead    
- - Hewick J C Gainford J J Hanlon    
- - Stattler Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins    
- - Ahoy Senor D R Fox Miss Lucinda V Russell    
- - Sounds Russian Sean Quinlan Ruth Jefferson    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.
Galopin Des Champs - - -
Bravemansgame - - -
Conflated - - -
Noble Yeats - - -
Protektorat - - -
Royale Pagaille - - -
Eldorado Allen - - -
Minella Indo scratched
A Plus Tard scratched
Hewick scratched
Stattler scratched
Ahoy Senor scratched
Sounds Russian scratched
Indicated odds were updated on 0 UTC. Please note that odds are subject to change.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Offers

About the Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is the most prestigious Grade 1 race in National Hunt racing. Run over a distance of 3 miles 2½ furlongs, it serves as the championship race for middle distance steeplechasers in the United Kingdom. Entry to the race is open to 5-year-old and above racehorses and 22 fences are jumped on the way to the finishing post.

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is one of a handful of thoroughbred races in England that attracts interest from the general public, with an estimated 1.4 million people tuning in to watch the race annually. This high level of public interest makes the race a major annual event for bookmakers, who can make huge profits or losses depending on the outcome of the race.

Betting on the Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Cheltenham Gold Cup has a tendency to attract at least two world class entries, which tends to resist the downward pressure the public would otherwise place on an outright favourite. In fact only one winner has run out priced under Evens since 1950. The net result of this is you can usually get good value on the favourite, who in recent years has approached a 40% strike rate in the race.

However, value is usually found in the horses priced high enough to pay out on each way bets if they place. The intensity of the race can easily expose the favourite to injury or a fall, which can open the Gold Cup up to the outsiders. Which in turn means that selecting the outsider most likely to place can be the most lucrative approach to Gold Cup betting.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Past Winners

Date Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2022 A Plus Tard 8 Rachael Blackmore Henry de Bromhead
2021 Minella Indo 8 J.W. Kennedy Henry de Bromhead
2020 Al Boum Photo 8 Paul Townsend Willie Mullins
2019 Al Boum Photo 7 Paul Townend Willie Mullins (IRE)
2018 Native River 8 Richard Johnson Colin Tizzard

More past winners

Date Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2017 Sizing John 7 Robbie Power Jessica Harrington (IRE)
2016 Don Cossack 9 Bryan Cooper Gordon Elliott (IRE)
2015 Coneygree 8 Nico de Boinville Mark Bradstock
2014 Lord Windermere 8 Davy Russell Jim Culloty (IRE)
2013 Bobs Worth 8 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2012 Synchronised 9 Tony McCoy Jonjo O'Neill
2011 Long Run 6 Mr Sam Waley-Cohen Nicky Henderson
2010 Imperial Commander 9 Paddy Brennan Nigel Twiston-Davies
2009 Kauto Star 9 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls
2008 Denman 8 Sam Thomas Paul Nicholls
2007 Kauto Star 7 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls
2006 War of Attrition 7 Conor O'Dwyer Mouse Morris (IRE)
2005 Kicking King 7 Barry Geraghty Tom Taaffe (IRE)
2004 Best Mate 9 Jim Culloty Henrietta Knight
2003 Best Mate 8 Jim Culloty Henrietta Knight
2002 Best Mate 7 Jim Culloty Henrietta Knight
2000 Looks Like Trouble 8 Richard Johnson Noel Chance
1999 See More Business 9 Mick Fitzgerald Paul Nicholls
1998 Cool Dawn 10 Andrew Thornton Robert Alner
1997 Mr Mulligan 9 Tony McCoy Noel Chance
1996 Imperial Call 7 Conor O'Dwyer Fergie Sutherland (IRE)
1995 Master Oats 9 Norman Williamson Kim Bailey
1994 The Fellow 9 Adam Kondrat François Doumen (FRA)
1993 Jodami 8 Mark Dwyer Peter Beaumont
1992 Cool Ground 10 Adrian Maguire Toby Balding
1991 Garrison Savannah 8 Mark Pitman Jenny Pitman
1990 Norton's Coin 9 Graham McCourt Sirrel Griffiths
1989 Desert Orchid 10 Simon Sherwood David Elsworth
1988 Charter Party 10 Richard Dunwoody David Nicholson
1987 The Thinker 9 Ridley Lamb Arthur Stephenson
1986 Dawn Run† 8 Jonjo O'Neill Paddy Mullins (IRE)
1985 Forgive 'n Forget 8 Mark Dwyer Jimmy FitzGerald
1984 Burrough Hill Lad 8 Phil Tuck Jenny Pitman
1983 Bregawn 9 Graham Bradley Michael W. Dickinson
1982 Silver Buck 10 Robert Earnshaw Michael Dickinson
1981 Little Owl 7 Mr Jim Wilson Peter Easterby
1980 Master Smudge [4] 8 Richard Hoare Arthur Barrow
1979 Alverton 9 Jonjo O'Neill Peter Easterby
1978 Midnight Court 7 John Francome Fred Winter
1977 Davy Lad 7 Dessie Hughes Mick O'Toole (IRE)
1976 Royal Frolic 7 John Burke Fred Rimell
1975 Ten Up 8 Tommy Carberry Jim Dreaper (IRE)
1974 Captain Christy 7 Bobby Beasley Pat Taaffe (IRE)
1973 The Dikler 10 Ron Barry Fulke Walwyn
1972 Glencaraig Lady† 8 Frank Berry Francis Flood (IRE)
1971 L'Escargot 8 Tommy Carberry Dan Moore (IRE)
1970 L'Escargot 7 Tommy Carberry Dan Moore (IRE)
1969 What A Myth 12 Paul Kelleway Ryan Price
1968 Fort Leney 10 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper (IRE)
1967 Woodland Venture 7 Terry Biddlecombe Fred Rimell
1966 Arkle 9 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper (IRE)
1965 Arkle 8 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper (IRE)
1964 Arkle 7 Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper (IRE)
1963 Mill House 6 Willie Robinson Fulke Walwyn
1962 Mandarin 11 Fred Winter Fulke Walwyn
1961 Saffron Tartan 10 Fred Winter Don Butchers
1960 Pas Seul 7 Bill Rees Bob Turnell
1959 Roddy Owen 10 Bobby Beasley Danny Morgan (IRE)
1958 Kerstin† 8 Stan Hayhurst Verly Bewicke
1957 Linwell 9 Michael Scudamore Charlie Mallon[3]
1956 Limber Hill 9 Jimmy Power Bill Dutton
1955 Gay Donald 9 Tony Grantham Jim Ford
1954 Four Ten 8 Tommy Cusack John Roberts
1953 Knock Hard 9 Tim Molony Vincent O'Brien (IRE)
1952 Mont Tremblant 6 Dave Dick Fulke Walwyn
1951 Silver Fame 12 Martin Molony George Beeby
1950 Cottage Rake 11 Aubrey Brabazon Vincent O'Brien (IRE)
1949 Cottage Rake 10 Aubrey Brabazon Vincent O'Brien (IRE)
1948 Cottage Rake 9 Aubrey Brabazon Vincent O'Brien (IRE)
1947 Fortina 6 Mr Richard Black Hector Christie
1946 Prince Regent 11 Tim Hyde Tom Dreaper (IRE)
1945 Red Rower 11 Davy Jones 2nd Lord Stalbridge
1942 Medoc II 8 Frenchie Nicholson Reg Hobbs
1941 Poet Prince 9 Roger Burford Ivor Anthony
1940 Roman Hackle 7 Evan Williams Owen Anthony
1939 Brendan's Cottage 9 George Owen George Beeby
1938 Morse Code 9 Danny Morgan Ivor Anthony
1936 Golden Miller 9 Evan Williams Owen Anthony
1935 Golden Miller 8 Gerry Wilson Basil Briscoe
1934 Golden Miller 7 Gerry Wilson Basil Briscoe
1933 Golden Miller 6 Billy Stott Basil Briscoe
1932 Golden Miller 5 Ted Leader Basil Briscoe
1930 Easter Hero 10 Tommy Cullinan Jack Anthony
1929 Easter Hero 9 Dick Rees Jack Anthony


Cheltenham Gold Cup Sign-up Offer