The Triumph Hurdle

Date Time Class Distance
Fri 17th March 2023 13:30 Grade 1 2 miles 1 furlong

Pos Dist Horse Jockey Trainer Age Wgt
1st Lossiemouth P Townend W P Mullins
2nd 2.25 Gala Marceau D E Mullins W P Mullins
3rd nk Zenta M P Walsh W P Mullins
4th 7.5 Gust Of Wind S F O'Keeffe W P Mullins
5th 2.25 Ascending Rachael Blackmore H de Bromhead
6th 7.5 Rightsotom J B Foley T Mullins
7th 1 Cinsa B Hayes W P Mullins
8th 3 Jacovec Cavern S W Flanagan Paul Hennessy
9th 3 Blood Destiny Mr P W Mullins W P Mullins
10th 4.25 Almuhit D Meyler Denis Hogan
11th 3 Jipcot Luca Morgan Ben Pauling
12th 1.5 Je Garde M J M O'Sullivan W P Mullins
13th 24 Active Duty Tom Cannon Ben Pauling
- - Hypotenus S Bowen J C McConnell    
- - Jupiter Du Gite N F Houlihan G L Moore    
williamhill - Watch Racing Live Online + Bet £10 Get £30*
*New online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the win part of EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned in settlement of winning free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. Full T&Cs here.
Lossiemouth - - -
Gala Marceau - - -
Zenta - - -
Gust Of Wind - - -
Ascending - - -
Rightsotom - - -
Cinsa - - -
Jacovec Cavern - - -
Blood Destiny - - -
Almuhit - - -
Jipcot - - -
Je Garde - - -
Active Duty - - -
Hypotenus scratched
Jupiter Du Gite scratched
Indicated odds were updated on 0 UTC. Please note that odds are subject to change.

Triumph Hurdle Offers

About the Triumph Hurdle

The Triumph Hurdle is the second of two Grade 1 novices hurdles run over 2 miles at the Cheltenham Festival. Unlike the Supreme Novices Hurdle, the Triumph Hurdle restricts entry to 4-year-old novice hurdlers, eliminating age difference from the factors that decide the race winner. Eight hurdles are jumped in the course of the race.

The Triumph Hurdle is one of the highest profile hurdles races at the Cheltenham Festival and attracts strong fields. It is common for horses who compete in the Triumph Hurdle to go on to compete in the Champion Hurdle, and four horses have achieved a double of victories in both races.

Betting on the Triumph Hurdle

The Triumph Hurdle is a hard race to untangle, with the youthful and inexperienced field prone to producing upsets. This is demonstrated by the poor record antepost favourites have in this race. While it wins by the favourite do happen, it is far more common for the antepost favourite to finish outside the places altogether.

So when looking for candidates ignore the markets. Form is important, and restricting bets to horses that won or placed last time out is advisable. Also look out for the winner of Ireland’s Spring Juvenile Hurdle if it is running in this race, as winners of that race have an outstanding track record when they go on to compete in the Triumph Hurdle.

Triumph Hurdle Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2022 Vauban Paul Townend Willie Mullins
2021 Quilixios Rachael Blackmore Henry de Bromhead
2020 Burning Victory Paul Townsend Willie Mullins
2019 Pentland Hills Nico de Boinville Nicky Henderson
2018 Farclas Jack Kennedy Gordon Elliott

More past winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2017 Defi du Seuil Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2016 Ivanovich Gorbatov Barry Geraghty Aidan O'Brien
2015 Peace And Co Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2014 Tiger Roll Davy Russell Gordon Elliott
2013 Our Conor Bryan Cooper Dessie Hughes
2012 Countrywide Flame Dougie Costello John Quinn
2011 Zarkandar Daryl Jacob Paul Nicholls
2010 Soldatino Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2009 Zaynar Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2008 Celestial Halo Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls
2007 Katchit Robert Thornton Alan King
2006 Detroit City Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2005 Penzance Robert Thornton Alan King
2004 Made in Japan Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2003 Spectroscope Barry Geraghty Jonjo O'Neill
2002 Scolardy Charlie Swan Willie Mullins
2001 no race due to foot-and-mouth crisis  
2000 Snow Drop Thierry Doumen François Doumen
1999 Katarino Mick Fitzgerald Nicky Henderson
1998 Upgrade Carl Llewellyn Nigel Twiston-Davies
1997 Commanche Court Norman Williamson Ted Walsh
1996 Paddy's Return Richard Dunwoody Ferdy Murphy
1995 Kissair Jonothan Lower Martin Pipe
1994 Mysilv Adrian Maguire David Nicholson
1993 Shawiya Charlie Swan Michael O'Brien
1992 Duke of Monmouth Mark Richards Simon Sherwood
1991 Oh So Risky Paul Holley David Elsworth
1990 Rare Holiday Brendan Sheridan Dermot Weld
1989 Ikdam Nigel Coleman Richard Holder
1988 Kribensis Richard Dunwoody Michael Stoute
1987 Alone Success Steve Smith Eccles Nicky Henderson
1986 Solar Cloud Peter Scudamore David Nicholson
1985 First Bout Steve Smith Eccles Nicky Henderson
1984 Northern Game Tommy Ryan Edward O'Grady
1983 Saxon Farm Mark Perrett Stan Mellor
1982 Shiny Copper Allen Webb Dina Smith
1981 Baron Blakeney Paul Leach Martin Pipe
1980 Heighlin Steve Jobar David Elsworth
1979 Pollardstown Philip Blacker Stan Mellor
1978 Connaught Ranger John Burke Fred Rimell
1977 Meladon Tommy Carberry Adrian Maxwell
1976 Peterhof Jonjo O'Neill Mick Easterby
1975 Royal Epic Fred McKenna Vernon Cross
1974 Attivo Robert Hughes Cyril Mitchell
1973 Moonlight Bay Johnny Haine Ryan Price
1972 Zarib Bill Smith Fred Rimell
1971 Boxer Jimmy Uttley Ron Smyth
1970 Varma Brian Barker Mick Masson
1969 Coral Diver Terry Biddlecombe Fred Rimell
1968 England's Glory Jimmy Uttley Staff Ingham
1967 Persian War Jimmy Uttley Brian Swift
1966 Black Ice Bobby Beasley Arthur Thomas
1965 Blarney Beacon Geordie Ramshaw Ron Smyth
1963-1964 no race    
1962 Beaver II Josh Gifford Ryan Price
1961 Cantab Fred Winter Ryan Price
1960 Turpial Arthur Freeman Peter Cazalet
1959 Amazon's Choice Johnny Gilbert Peter Thrale
1958 Pundit Harry Sprague Staff Ingham
1957 Meritorius Denis Dillon Peter Thrale
1956 Square Dance Michael Scudamore Fulke Walwyn
1955 Kwannin Pierre Delfarguiel Alec Head
1954 Prince Charlemagne Lester Piggott Tommy Carey
1953 Clair Soleil Fred Winter François Mathet
1952 Hoggar Roger Triboit John Cunnington
1951 Blue Song II Fernand Thirion Georges Pelat
1950 Abrupto Roger Mantelin E. Diggle
1940 - 1949 no race    
1939 Grey Talk Serge Rochet George Batchelor


The Triumph Hurdle Sign-up Offer